Nokia launched Mobile Core Early Access globally on September 8, 2026, opening a live hosted testing environment that lets telecom operators and enterprises try its latest 5G Core, automation, and network exposure capabilities before committing to a deployment. Nokia calls it the first program of its kind, and it follows a smaller pilot the company ran with 30 companies starting in June.
The pitch, according to Nokia, is that slide-deck demos no longer cut it when mobile innovation cycles are moving this fast. Operators can now log into a live, end-to-end environment covering core network functions, radios, and devices, rather than waiting for a scheduled vendor demo to see how a feature actually behaves.
What the announcement does not mention is that Nokia is already one of the largest players in the exact market this program targets. That context matters for reading what “industry-first” access program actually means here.
Quick Take
- Nokia opened Mobile Core Early Access A wide cinematic 16:9 editorial photograph of a modern telecom network operations center at night, with a subtle Nokia blue geometric emblem glowing on a glass wall above rows of server racks and live network monitoring dashboards showing 5G core traffic visualizations. A network engineer in silhouette reviews a floating holographic display of core network functions and deployment metrics, shot on a 35mm lens with shallow depth of field, cool blue lighting with amber accent highlights, photorealistic editorial tech journalism style. On September 8, 2026, a live hosted environment for testing 5G Core, automation, analytics, and network exposure features.
- The program piloted in June 2026 with 30 companies; registration is now open to any telecom provider or enterprise, existing or prospective Nokia customer.
- A paid tier exists for deeper, extended access, though Nokia has not disclosed pricing.
The Details
According to Nokia’s announcement, published via GlobeNewswire and Nokia’s own newsroom, Mobile Core Early Access gives participants a live environment covering cloud-native network functions, user interfaces, and operational workflows, alongside radios and devices, not just the core software in isolation. Nokia says the goal is to let operators evaluate business relevance and deployment considerations earlier, before committing to a purchase.
The program is not brand new. Nokia quietly ran it with a select group of 30 companies starting in June 2026, and this week’s announcement extends registration to the entire industry. Nokia also included a supporting quote from Roberto Kompany, principal analyst for mobile infrastructure at Omdia, who was included in Nokia’s own release rather than commenting independently. Kompany’s framing, in short, is that a regularly updated live environment for 5G Core, automation, and network exposure use cases reduces evaluation friction for operators. For anyone requiring extended access or deeper integration into their own systems, Nokia offers a paid tier, though it did not disclose pricing or terms.
Why It Matters
What the release leaves out is that Nokia is not a newcomer trying to earn attention in this market. According to Nokia’s own corporate disclosures, independently reported by TelecomLead, Nokia had 127 5G Standalone Core operator customers and 55 live deployments as of the end of Q3 2025, which Nokia said was the largest such base globally at the time. The same report cites Nokia’s technology as present in roughly 65% of telecom providers’ 5G Standalone networks as of December 2025, and notes Omdia’s 2025 Core Vendors assessment ranked Nokia first for overall portfolio competitiveness.
That context changes how “industry-first” reads. This isn’t a challenger trying to get a foot in the door, it’s the market leader building a low-friction, self-serve funnel to convert its existing installed base and prospects into deeper commitments. That’s a legitimate business move, but it’s marketing framing dressed as pure customer service, and Nokia’s own release doesn’t mention its market position at all.
It’s also part of a familiar theme this year: Google Cloud made a similar pitch around practical evaluation over hype-chasing when a product director talked up governance and interoperability instead of new model releases. Vendors across categories are increasingly selling “try it yourself before you buy it” access as the antidote to AI-era hype fatigue, and it’s worth reading that framing as a sales strategy as much as a customer benefit.
What to Watch
Watch how many operators actually sign up now that access is open industry-wide, versus the 30 companies in the June pilot. Nokia hasn’t disclosed pricing for its paid extended-access tier, so that’s worth tracking if it surfaces. It’s also worth watching whether Nokia names specific operators or publishes case studies from the live environment, since the current announcement offers no named customer results beyond the pilot’s headcount.
Key Takeaways
- Nokia opened Mobile Core Early Access globally on September 8, 2026, after piloting the program since June with 30 companies, per its GlobeNewswire announcement.
- The live environment covers 5G Core, automation, analytics, and network exposure use cases alongside radios and devices, with a paid tier for extended access.
- Nokia’s own disclosures, independently reported by TelecomLead, put its 5G Standalone Core base at 127 operator customers and 55 live deployments as of Q3 2025.
- Nokia’s release does not mention its existing market leadership position, which context suggests this is as much a sales funnel as a pure evaluation tool.
FAQ
What is Nokia’s Mobile Core Early Access program?
It’s a live, hosted testing environment Nokia opened globally on September 8, 2026, letting telecom operators and enterprises evaluate its 5G Core, automation, analytics, and network exposure capabilities, alongside radios and devices, before committing to a deployment.
Who can access Nokia’s Mobile Core Early Access program?
Nokia says it’s available globally to telecommunication providers and enterprises, including both existing and prospective customers. It launched with a pilot group of 30 companies in June 2026 before opening to the wider industry.
Is Nokia’s Mobile Core Early Access program free?
The base program appears to be free to register for, but Nokia offers a separate paid option for participants who need extended access, broader flexibility, or deeper integration with their own environments. Nokia has not disclosed pricing for that tier.